The Regina Car Share Co-operative provides a convenient and affordable alternative to owning a car. Carsharing gives you access to vehicles when you need them, without the responsibilities that ownership can bring.

The Beginning

The idea of the Regina Car Share Co-operative was born mid 2000s when people in Regina gathered to discuss alternative transportation. Some people in Regina were already familiar with the concept of Car Sharing; we had read the websites of many of the successful Car Sharing Cooperatives in Ontario, BC, the U.S. and Europe. For some people, however, car sharing was an entirely new concept.

The idea became one step closer to reality in early 2007 when a small group of dedicated people submitted funding proposals to both the federal and the provincial government. The hard work paid off in the fall of 2007 when we learned that our proposals were approved for funding. At that point we gathered interested people to a start up meeting, where we decided that incorporating as a co-operative was the way we wanted to go. However, incorporating turned out to be a challenge. The concept of Car Sharing was new to the provincial government and we sure got a taste of how it felt to break new ground! We never gave up, however, and have been operating fully¬†as Saskatchewan’s first car sharing service since late 2009.

In 2020, we’ve added our first 2 Electric Vehicles to the fleet thanks to the support of Affinity Credit Union. They’re zero emission Nissan LEAFs, and were the only EVs you could rent in Regina in 2021.

Board of Directors and Executive:

John Klein – President
John is an IT Support Analyst with the University of Regina, and has a Computer Science degree after completing the co-operative education program. He spent 3 years working in Yorkton for Parkland Regional Library and served as President on the CUPE Local at that workplace. He’s originally from Wood Mountain, SK. He enjoys taking the bus, walks, uses his e-bike, and is happy to be making sure a shared vehicle is always an online booking away…

Christian Soucie – Vice President
Chris joined the board in June, 2009

James Dennis joined the board in December, 2016

Lacey Weekes – Secretary/Treasurer, joined August 2013.

Jory Cadman joined the Board in 2021.

Jeffrey Buck, Catherine Hana, Hagere Zegeye-Gebrehiwot, & Jade Gritzfeld have joined the Board in 2022.

You can contact any person on the executive/board here.

If you’re interested in serving on the board, we’re always looking for new volunteers.

Some of the past board members to volunteer with Regina Car Share include:

Jag Behl, Blaine Dodds, Leon Toland, Mitch Serbu, Mark Cazakoff, Kelly Liberet, Brittany Shewchuk, Lori Reichert, Louise Kilby, Kim Kovacs, Alyssa Becker-Burns, Jennipher Karst, Rick Morrell, Curtis Wiebe, Malin Hansen, Heather Russell, Lara Forbes, Laura Pfeifer, Mark Bunney, Megan Lyster, Erin Laing, Shawn Fraser, Dorian King, Ashley Tysdal